Ready Player One Tag

0

As with Grey’s Anatomy tag, I did a bit of a search to find one ready made. Alas, there wasn’t one to be found so I made one myself. It’s on the short side, but I find less is indeed more and people put more effort in to individual questions this way.

Describe your avatar from the Oasis
After many hours of going through handles that have already been taken I would probably go for something like H@nSolo My avatar would essentially have Faith from Buffy’s body, an elfin face and Ariel’s hair. She’d be dressed in clothes similar to Han Solo with Lando’s cape because you always need a cape.
Would you be a Gunter or would you be tempted to join the Sixers? Would you clan up?
I think I’d be a half arsed gunter. I’m really rubbish at puzzles and problems. I noticed as part of the promotion for the film there was an easter egg inside the trailer. I sent it to a friend after about 5 minutes because I just couldn’t do it.
I’m also not very good at computer games. I got a GameBoy when I was 12. I was told I had to complete the two games it came with before I got any more. I never got more games for it.
In my defence, one of those games was Super Mario Land and if you turned the thing off, you had to start all over again; there was no way to save. I got pretty far one Sunday afternoon while having the device plugged in; but 8 hours later I had a nasty headache and a nagging mum telling me to be more productive.
The other game was its sequel and while it did have a save option, it took me up until 2012 to get to the final of the game. That death match has still yet to be completed by me.
Last year, while dating a tech-imp he got me into Tomb Raider and I really got into that. Unfortunately, along with everything else, me playing the game lost its appeal to him and I didn’t get past the 25% mark after playing for about 14 hours off and on over 3 months. Plus, him shouting at me for being shit kind of spoilt the fun I was having.

Based upon all of the above, I doubt I’d ever be on IOI’s radar to be wooed into Sixer living. However, I wouldn’t do it even if they asked. I’d belong to a clan of people who knew me and liked be around for the company.
What sort of world would you most like to visit?
I feel like saying Pop Culture is too obvious as the book itself is a love letter to everything Pop Culture. However, a 90s pop culture ‘scape would be perfect. Get a coffee and hang out at Central Perk, Club Nights at the Bronze and have a book recommended to you by Rupert Giles.
There’d be an almost ‘Theme Hospital’ immersive game to play where you work alongside doctors from ER and Casualty.
If you want a change of pace, you can enrol in Starfleet before joining one of the three Captains that dominated the 90s: Picard, Sisco and Jayneway.
In the book, you have to become a character in a film. You have to be as word perfect as possible and gain bonus points for inflection. What film and character would you be most successful as?
I’m fairly certain I could be successful with any character in Kevin Smith’s Dogma, but for the inflections it would have to be Alan Rickman’s Metatron. That said, Alan Rickman in any of his roles would be quite fun to do. “because it would hurt more.”
The other film would be Jurassic Park and I’d happily take dealer’s choice as I’ve watched it so many times I subconsciously recite the lines now. “shoooowt her, shoooowt her.”
What five songs would you have ready to play while in the Oasis?
Aerosmith- Jaded
David Bowie- The Man Who Sold the World
Pink- Just Like Fire
Panic at the Disco- Victorious
Elle King- Good Girls

Otherworld Written by Jason Segel and Kristen Miller

2
DFG_CMIUQAEOsiU

https://www.change.org/p/yalc-uk-get-jason-segel-and-kirsten-miller-at-yalc-2018?recruiter=752308687&utm_source=share_petition&utm_medium=copylink&utm_campaign=share_petition&utm_term=share_twitter_responsive – Please sign this petition to get Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller over to the UK for YALC.

Release Date: 31.10.2017
Buy it Here
Goodreads
Description:
For fans of Black Mirror and HBO’s Westworld, and readers of James Dashner and Veronica Roth, Otherworld is the first book in New York Times bestselling authors Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller’s new YA sci-fi-thriller series. The future is now. And the future is terrifying.
There are no screens. There are no controls. You don’t just see and hear it–you taste, smell, and touch it too. In this new reality, there are no laws to break or rules to obey. You can live your best life. Indulge every desire.
It’s a game so addictive you’ll never want it to end. Until you realize that you’re the one being played.
Welcome to Otherworld, where reality is dead. Step into the future. Leave your body behind.
The frightening future that Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller have imagined is not far away. Otherworld asks the question we’ll all soon be asking: if technology can deliver everything we want, how much are we willing to pay?

“They forgot nothing real can be perfect.”

Slated for a Halloween release, I couldn’t think of a better time for this pre-dystopic world building cyber novel to enter reader’s lives. Yes, it will make for a spooky read for those inclined during the evening of trick or treat. Yes, it will make for a good Christmas present and yes, you will most likely get a copy from me for Christmas.

To write this review I went back to my Good Reads progress comments thinking that would give me a basis and prompt to write. There were so many quotable moments and I knew I didn’t move from my comfy spot to get some post-its. Alas, I didn’t have much written. In fact, I only updated it 3 times. That’s because I was unable to put the book down long enough to update. Only comfort breaks and the need to appear sociable stopped me from devouring it in one sitting. I guess that just means I’ll have to pick it up for another read shortly.

I came to the novel hoping to have it compete for my love of Ready Player One. What I got was so much more. While Ready Player One is consumed by 80s nostalgia and the society is already accepting of the gaming platform in which the storyline is based, Otherworld is less reminiscent, much more relevant and loaded with foreboding and fear of what this technology could bring. It is a fable and Simon is not the only person on a journey of social and technological discovery.

The thing I love most about this book is that stylistically this is a book that has been missing from my reading life for a long time. It’s a cinematic techno-thriller, worthy of sitting on myself alongside the master of the genre and my favourite author, Michael Crichton and his counterpart Robin Cook. (Interestingly enough, Crichton directed the film Coma, which was written by Robin Cook.) I hope I’m right in thinking that Segel was a fan of the original Westworld growing up. I’d even go out on a limb and say he’s seen Coma. There’s too much passion and a labour of love around the creation of this book for there not to be.

The world building, pace and ‘Coma’-like jeopardy and moral ambiguity all make this a must read that will keep you on tenterhooks right until the last line. It reads like it could be lifted right from the pages and placed onto the screen. Its a story that is inclusive, despite its focus theme. I’m the furthest from a gamer and at no point did I feel Otherworld, Segel or Miller were isolating me from the plot.

There are secondary characters that some may feel are underdeveloped. I would agree to a certain degree; I want to know more about them. However, I would argue that this is realistic of some people we meet online. There is also enough hints to prompt people’s imagination and to also feel for the characters. I suspect the two characters in question will prompt many a fanfic over the next few years.

As the book comes to a close, there is enough of a resolution to satisfy any reader, while the set up for the follow up novel is a nice touch and one that should promote many chats, both online and in person while we wait, as patiently as we can for that second book.

C-lneyEV0AA7-2z

In the year that you are waiting for the sequel, you might like to try the following:

  • Jurassic Park- Michael Crichton
  • Disclosure- Michael Crichton
  • Coma- Robin Cook
  • Maze Runner- James Dashner
  • The Special Ones- E M Bailey