Posted in 2018, ARC, Harper Teen, Net Galley, Reads of ...

All of This is True

Release date: 15.5.2018
About: In this genre-defying page-turner from Lygia Day Peñaflor, four teens befriend their favorite YA novelist, only to find their deepest, darkest secrets in the pages of her next book–with devastating consequences.
Miri Tan loved the book Undertow like it was a living being. So when she and her friends went to a book signing to hear the author, Fatima Ro, they concocted a plan to get close to her.
Soleil Johnston wanted to be a writer herself one day. When she and her friends started hanging out with her favorite author, Fatima Ro, she couldn’t believe their luck–especially when Jonah Nicholls started hanging out with them, too.
Penny Panzarella was more than the materialist party girl everyone at the Graham School thought she was–and she was willing to share all her secrets with Fatima Ro to prove it.
Jonah Nicholls had more to hide than any of them. And now that Fatima’s next book is out in the world, he’s the one who is paying the price…
Perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying–and told as a series of interviews, journal entries, and even pages from the book within the book–this gripping story of a fictional scandal will keep you on the edge of your seat from beginning to end.
Buy it here


Character/s

This book wouldn’t be the same without each and every one of these complex characters. Their personalities don’t work in isolation and are a result of actions of others. Meeting them in a Pretty Little Lies post-event environment makes for some unreliable narrators and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Plot.

It’s a puzzle piece plot that will only make sense once you get to the end. Because of the nature of the plot, I can’t actually talk much about it, other than the fact that it will consume you completely. You will not want to put it down until you have all the answers.

Writing

It’s amazing when you have so many different characters with their own narratives going on that a writer can give each one a unique voice on paper. You don’t have to read the start of chapters multiple times to find out whose views your reading.

 

Posted in ARC, Book reviews, Harper Teen

They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera #gemreviews #bookreviews

 

https-blueprint-api-production.s3.amazonaws.comuploadscardimage378836c161dbc0-00ff-4ab1-9e47-001f6a1073a8

Han’s Review

I haven’t read any of Adam Silvera’s books before so I wasn’t sure what his writing style was like, but I was instantly captivated by Rufus and Mateo’s stories. The main dual narrative was excellent; they were each well defined and easily distinguishable yet blended together seamlessly.
The plot itself was scarily plausible given today’s advances in technology and I loved the idea of the Last Friend app.
The story could have edged towards depressing given the subject matter, yet it wasn’t at all, in fact it was the complete opposite; it was full of hope, friendship, love and really seizing the day. It genuinely made me think what I would do if I knew I had 24hrs max to live and whether I would indeed live my best life.
The book is insanely quotable and I can see people getting passages tattooed on them they’re that brilliant.
The writing is so descriptive I could see the action playing out and as it counted down towards the ends of the 24hour down of the book I couldn’t imagine how it would end.
I can see this being an incredible film if it was cast well.
I am now going to seek out any other AS books!
Absolutely totally amazing and I will recommend this to all my book geek friends 🙂