The Liars by Jennifer Mathieu

Publisher: Hachette/ Hodder

Pages: 352

Release date: 5.9.19

About: From the author of Moxie, soon to be a major Netflix production

The highly anticipated new novel from Jennifer Mathieu. Two siblings wrestle with the secrets and lies that threaten to destroy their future. Perfect for fans of We Were Liars.

How can one family have so many secrets?

It’s the summer of 1986. Joaquin and Elena, two teenage siblings live in a toxic environment with their alcoholic mother on an island off the Texas Gulf Coast.

Elena falls for a new boy who has just arrived from California. Joaquin must wrestle with his decision to stay on Mariposa Island to protect his sister or flee from his mother’s abuse.

As both teenagers struggle to figure out who they are and want to be, they are caught in a web of family dysfunction and secrets from their mother’s past.

Can fierce love save them, or will their truth tear them apart?

There are very few authors I will drop my TBR for the minute I’m able to read a new book from them. Jennifer Mathieu is one of those authors.

The Liars is a powerful read that will stay with me for a long time. It’s narratives are haunting and heartbreaking. I thought this was amazing right from the beginning and then there was a flip; in came a third voice that challenged everything I thought and felt. I’ve never experienced anything like it in my life.

It’s themes don’t make for an easy read, but I feel it’s one that is much needed for the current climate.

5 thoughts on “The Liars by Jennifer Mathieu”

    1. I’m not going to lie, I wasn’t certain it was for me when I read the blurb… but I can’t not read a Jennifer Mathieu.
      So so glad I did. It’s about two thirds of the way through the narrative is just spun on its head! *mind blown* x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.