The Paper & Hearts Society by Lucy Powrie

About:
A brand new series from Booktuber Lucy Powrie – about what happens when you give up on trying to fit in and let your weird out! It’s time to join The Paper & Hearts Society …
Tabby Brown is tired of trying to fit in. She doesn’t want to go to parties – in fact, she would much rather snuggle up on the sofa with her favourite book.
It’s like she hasn’t found her people …
Then Tabby joins a club that promises to celebrate books. What could go wrong? EVERYTHING – especially when making new friends brings out an AWKWARD BUZZING feeling all over her body.
But Olivia, Cassie, Henry and Ed have something that makes Tabby come back. Maybe it’s the Austen-themed fancy-dress parties, or Ed’s fluffy cat Mrs Simpkins, or could it be Henry himself …
Can Tabby let her weird out AND live THE BEST BOOKISH LIFE POSSIBLE?
Perfect for fans of Holly Smale and Super Awkward.

Review

I knew I’d love this book. It’s the sort of book that has an energy about it before you even jump into the world.
What I wasn’t expecting was to feel so utterly at home with the characters that I wanted to sign up and join the society. I mourned the ending more than any book I’ve read this year.
I had to pause part way through due to issues regarding my own mental health; these characters felt so real to me that I pulled away from them in fear that my negativity would infect them.
Tabby is our eyes into this inclusive literary world. She takes a leap despite her reluctance and it gives her a group to call her own. And while she holds back on incidents in her past, she is still that relatable girl who questions her value when it comes to deserving friends.
The plot is a delightful origins story for what I hope is going to be a new series about friendship, belonging and love in various forms. There will be aspects that can lead you to suspect how the plot will unravel, which gives the book a suspenseful tone that the cover totally doesn’t prepare you for.
The book ends with a heartfelt and fulfilling resolution. It ensures the book works as a stand alone, but it’s the characters that will have you begging for more.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: